Knowing what to educate myself

It is when one reaches their mid-twenties, they can clearly deduce that school/elementary education plays only a part of all the knowledge needed to be a productive citizen of society and a confident responsible individual of his kin. It is not the whole sum.
Then why do our young minds loose hope or commit suicide if they are not able to get into a decent college or just not pass their Board examinations.
Is it because the concept of BOARD exams in India has been over-hyped and been elevated to a level of a SPARTAN-enunciation ceremony as benchmark of identifying if a person is Useful or a complete fool. Spartans or in current times the Masai Mara tribe had traditions where a boy on reaching adulthood would venture in the wild alone, weapon-less and bring back the head of a wild-beast slain by him. Only then can he be accepted into the society.
Are we doing the same to our children with these BOARD examinations and Entrance tests?
I do not refute the concept of these exams. Just like steel needs a blacksmiths hammer to become a sword, exams give students a driving force and a competitive purpose in their otherwise care-free childhood. What I absolutely regret is the ideology of these exams are the final hurdle one has to cross to be acceptable, and to have hopes or aspirations from. While those who fail should wither into non-conformity and inferiority complexes.

One hat cannot fit all heads, similarly our education syllabus cannot satisfy the infinite variances in mentality, talent, and skills that kids are born with. Hence, students should understand that if they fail to pass an examination even after all their hard-efforts, life does not end for them then and there.

Taking my own example for explaining better, I had interest in Science – Physics, Chemistry, Biology but it was limited to understanding how these laws work in nature and all about the cosmos which I belong to. But, Deducing Integrations of all the photon values of Plancks constant giving a hyperbola of 10 to the power of negative thousand hertz of gamma rays was beyond my interests. My true passion lied in Computer Science where I had self-tutored myself many different languages and design tools such that the whole idea of coding a machine to make decisions on its own was a huge turn-on for me. I played God in my own little mechanical world.

So now I ask the question – Do I need to force myself to study those volumes of Calculus & Boron Rings. Why should I overload myself with Board tuitions, then TIMES, then KOTA to pass my ISC & JEEE & AIEEE so that I get an opportunity to study BTECH in Computers and then and only then can I be a good IT engineer and software developer ?
I started asking questions to many seniors in their mid-twenties, if Engineering was the only way forward and through 1 out of 10 sources I came to know that doing a Bachelors in Computer Science will give me enough skills to pursue a job in IT. They advised me to study hard ONLY for my ISC as that is the right thing to do being in school.

Few years later the humour of this whole theatrics came to light when I saw batches after batches of Electric, Mechanical, Chemical engineers joining the same IT companies that we were working in after a year of our induction. (BCA is 1 year shorter than BE/BTECH). So why did they have to go through his whole hell hole. Job opportunities are less I understand but then whole & sole batches of non-computer Engineers moving into IT is something unusual. The world needs Electronics & Auto mobiles & Synthetic Polymers as much as software.

I appeal to all students who sit through back-aching and ‘cigarette-forcing’ hours of entrance-tests after entrance-tests preparations to ask yourself now in your teens what you want to be. Follow your passions and not what is more lucrative. [ Certain marketing /sales professionals earn thrice more than a qualified IT/Auto mobile Engineer]. If you are good at it then you shall earn your bread & butter.

Knowledge is the wand for grasping the whole picture, keep questioning the traditions and be sure of what you need. And if you do ever fail in these tests, please do not waste a whole year applying for them again, without questioning yourself if you really are made to be an engineer. You shall grow up,work for their corporates for years, floating through time like an unattached balloon and curse for never being happy in that role. Do not end up living like that just to earn a living. Have courage.

Leave a Reply

